Academics Curriuclum

Subject Choices

FET Phase: Grade 10,11,12

1. Compulsory Subjects

Compulsory Subject 1Compulsory Subject 2Compulsory Subject 3Compulsory Subject 4
EnglishAfrikaans or SepediMaths or Maths LiteracyLife Orientation

2. Choose 3 other subjects from the following groups

Group 1Group 2Group 3
Physical ScienceHistoryHistory
Life ScienceGeographyGeography
Computer Application Technology (CAT)AccountingAccounting
Business StudiesLife ScienceConsumer Studies
TourismVisual Arts
Business Studies
Information Technology (IT)

Immigrant Learners

Immigrants need to choose a 7th subject instead of Afrikaans and Sepedi

Senior Phase: Grade 8 & 9

The eight areas of learning are the following:

  1. Language Literacy and Communication (English and Afrikaans/Sepedi)
  2. Human and Social Sciences
  3. Technology
  4. Mathematics
  5. Natural Sciences
  6. Creative Arts
  7. Economics and Management Science
  8. Life Orientation

The first seven learning areas will each draw on the content of the traditionally known subjects like English, Afrikaans, Mathematics, Home Economics, Physical Science, Biology, Art, Drama, Music and Accounting. Life Orientation will include religious education, vocational guidance, general guidance and physical activities. Provision will be made for additional subjects.

Progress reports will be based on the continuous assessment of the pupil and will move away from reflecting solely on content accumulation and give greater clarity on study habits and attitudes and how successful the pupil has been in coping with the requirements of modern life and the modern educational system.